3 Ways to Reset MacBook to Factory Settings

Apple has made it possible to reset any version of macOS to factory defaults quickly. So you can restore all your account and device settings to their defaults in minutes without needing third-party programs. This can come in handy in different cases: MacBook sale, operating system malfunction, or other.

Use our tips to reset your MacBook to factory settings. We’ve described several effective ways on different versions of macOS, including the current 2022 OS Monterey.

How to Reset macOS Monterey to Factory Settings?

MacOS Monterey has built-in factory reset tools. Use this feature to complete the process in just a few minutes without requiring complicated manipulation or third-party apps from the App Store.

A built-in, updated factory reset tool is available on 2018 MacBooks and later with macOS Monterey.

  1. Open System Preferences.
    reset macbook to factory settings
  2. From the top menu, open System Preferences again.
  3. Select Erase All Content and Settings.
  4. Confirm your account information and follow the instructions to begin the factory reset.
    how to factory reset macbook
  5. Enter the administrator password for your Mac account.
    factory reset macbook pro
  6. Confirm logout of accounts and loss of some saved data.
    factory reset macbook
  7. Enter your Apple ID to begin the process of resetting your MacBook to factory defaults.

This process takes a few minutes, and your Mac will reboot with the original settings. You’ll need to reselect your device language, enter your Apple ID information, and set up iCloud. Remember to save your authorization information before deleting the information saved on your laptop.

Before you begin a data reset, you will be prompted to save a backup via Open Time Machine. Take advantage of this, so you don’t lose your account data and other critical settings.

As a final step, make sure that you confirm the deletion of data such as Apple ID, iCloud, and Touch ID settings, as well as all settings, media files, saved accessories, notes, payment information, downloaded apps, and authentication information for services and apps before resetting.

How to Reset Factory Settings in Earlier Versions of macOS?

If you’re using a MacBook with an earlier version of macOS or your device doesn’t support OS Monterey, you can reset it to factory defaults in other ways. Earlier versions of macOS don’t have a built-in factory reset tool, so you’ll have to do a bit more.

  • Turn off your computer.
  • Turn on your Mac and press Command + R at the same time.
  • Hold down the buttons until the macOS wipe and restore menu appears.

You have two options: reinstall macOS from Apple’s servers, or use a disk utility to erase all your data and return it to its factory settings. Both methods have a similar result – you’ll delete all your Mac account data and get a clean OS.

Choose the one that works for you and follow the simple instructions. It won’t take you long!

Conclusion

Resetting your MacBook to factory settings will erase all account data and restore all of the device’s original settings. The result is a completely refreshed and clean macOS as if you’d just updated it. It will help you get your Mac ready for sale or speed it up.

Cyril Kardashevsky

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.