No one wants to lose important data from their MacBook forever. If an error occurs, and you accidentally delete important files or data, you can recover them. The macOS has several ways to recover lost data or contacts. We explored how to restore data from iCloud. Read this article for details on how to recover information and files from iCloud or from a backup in Time Machine.
The way you recover data in macOS depends on which files you need to save. It can be user contacts, photos and videos, system settings, messenger messages, or emails. Any of this data can be recovered using Time Machine backup or the cloud service iCloud. First, make sure your recycle garbage can on your Apple computer is empty. After all, deleted files in the recycle bin can be recovered within 30 days if you haven’t cleared it.
If the Recycle Bin is empty, let’s move on to instructions for restoring data using a backup. You can use Time Machine if you need to restore the system settings of your operating system or to recover certain files.
- In the settings, locate and open Time Machine.
- Make sure that you have automatic backups created (there should be a checkmark near the automatic backup option for this).
- Check the list of available hourly, weekly and monthly backups.
- Select the backup of the date and time you want.
- Upload it (the computer will restore the deleted files, as well as return the settings of applications and the operating system up to the date of backup).
After your computer restarts, you can make sure that the files and data you deleted after the backup are available to you again.
You can also restore individual files that were previously deleted. To complete this, open the system settings in the application and select the “Show Time Machine in menu bar”. Then click the application icon in the top menu and go to the “Open Time Machine Preferences” page. You will then have access to all the files that were previously deleted. You won’t see them if the app hasn’t previously backed them up.
Note that with OS X Yosemite and newer, you can back up to your local Apple computer storage. Older versions of operating systems only back up to external drives or flash drives. This is why older versions of macOS have the automatic backup feature turned off in the first place.
However, in some cases, Time Machine has not activated the automatic backup feature. What do you do if this happens? You can use iCloud. With this service, you can recover different types of data, including user contacts, photos, messenger files, message history, and more.
To restore contacts from iCloud or other information, you need to go to the iCloud service site. You won’t be able to do this through the app on your MacBook. Log in to the service site.
Then go to account settings. On this page, you’ll see data about your synced devices, as well as storage information. Just go down a little lower on the page to see the section with the recovery of different data.
In this section, you can restore:
- Calendar data;
- Bookmarks data.
You just need to select the type of data you want and click Restore on the selected save. Note that apps and data screens can only be restored within 30 days of the restore. If you need to get back later deleted files, use Restore for the desired period.
You can also recover photos and messenger data directly from the iCloud app on your Mac. You can also do this for 30 days after deleting your data.
If you have deleted data from iCloud, you can restore it. Just go to iCloud on your computer, select the deleted data, and then press Undo Delete. It only takes a couple of seconds.
We hope our instruction was helpful to you.